Euro PM2008 a success

The 17th annual Euro PM2008 Congress & Exhibition event featured a technical programme that attracted in excess of 200 Oral and Poster presentations and over 600 participants. The event was organised and sponsored by the European Powder Metallurgy Association (EPMA). In addition the exhibition area was sold out with more than 75 exhibiting companies from around the world. During the Congress plenary session EPMA President Mr Ingo Cremer presented a “Review of the PM Industry from a European Perspective”. The keynote plenary speaker was Dr Thomas Hamm from FEV Motorentechnik GmbH who gave an excellent paper on the “Future of the Combustion Engine”. The three EPMA Distinguished Service Awards for 2008 were presented to Dr Winfried Huppmann formerly of Hilti AG Lichtenstein, Dr Gerard Raisson from Aubert et Duval, France and Mr Rudolf Reinstadler from Stadler AS in Spain. The event also saw the presentation of the biennial EPMA Thesis competition whose prizes were sponsored by Höganäs AB. The winner of the Masters category was Miss Nil Unal from Istanbul Technical University and the Phd/Doctorate Category was won by Dr Sastry Kandukuri from KU Leuven in Belgium. The Euro PM2008 Congress Dinner was held at the “Landesmuseum”, which provided a nostalgic and interesting venue for discussions in a relaxed atmosphere.
Previous articleEOS develops titanium alloys
Next articlePangang begins construction
Stainless Steel World is part of The KCI Media Group, a group of companies focused on building and sustaining global communities in the flow control industries. We publish news on a daily basis and connect business-to-business professionals through our online communities, publications, conferences and exhibitions.